Journey To Minimalism

img_0060
This is all of our belongings before we packed them away in my parent’s attic. We currently only have 12 boxes in the states 🙂

“The world says: “You have needs — satisfy them. You have as much right as the rich and the mighty. Don’t hesitate to satisfy your needs; indeed, expand your needs and demand more.” This is the worldly doctrine of today. And they believe that this is freedom. The result for the rich is isolation and suicide, for the poor, envy and murder.”

― Fyodor DostoyevskyThe Brothers Karamazov

I have been asking myself this question a lot recently. How many possessions do I own? I encourage you to ask yourself the same question. I couldn’t even take an educated guess on the number of possessions that fill my life.

According to the LA times the average American household owns 300,000 possessions… That number is horrifying. For the past year, I have been thinking a lot about the resources I consume and the places and companies I throw my money at. I have always lived what you could call a somewhat conscious life. I prefer to think about the part I play in bigger social and environmental issues whether it be that I hold a positive or negative impact.

I heard about the concept of minimalism a while ago I was won over from the first article I read. The part I struggled with was implementing the practices into my daily life.

The thought of becoming more purposeful with the things I surrounded myself with and being more conscious of what I put my money into fascinated me. I believe money is a very powerful tool and if used for good can initiate great social changes. With all of this said I wrote a list of the ten reasons I decided to take the plunge and start living a minimalistic lifestyle.

1. More money less debt

$15,310 that is the average amount of credit card debt per household in America. That is an incredible amount of money. That’s not including mortgages, student loans, and car payments. That is just the average amount of consumer debt. I think we can all agree on this being a slave to those monthly payments sounds absolutely horrifying. By implementing minimalistic practices to my life it would mean less money spent on possession, giving me more money and eliminating me from the grips of credit card debt.

2. Less crap

This one is pretty self-explanatory. I hate clutter. I hate crap. You know all the useless things that find their way into your home? Things that you don’t have time to go through because you are too busy working to pay off debt? The crap. I hate the crap. It ruins joy…

3.Materialism and Awareness

I have struggled with materialism for a great part of my life. My values were put into my own physical comforts and economic gain. Whether I was aware of it or not I had no concern over how I affected and impacted the lives around me. I have a deep desire to become more aware of the world around me and to free myself of things that hold no true value to my own self-betterment or the betterment of all of us. I personally believe I can achieve this level of awareness by cutting out all the crap.

4. Environment

The earth. One of my greatest passions. We get one earth to live on, and everything we need to thrive we can find here on this beautiful earth. It saddens me deeply to think that careless consumerism is hurting this earth. Deforestation, pollution of our land and our oceans. The list can go on. I encourage you to look deeply into your waste and what that means to the earth. The less we consume the less waste we have.

5.  More intention and direction

When you focus your time and money on things that matter to you and on things that enrich your life, I believe that you will live a life with more intention and with more direction. I think we all suffer from feeling a lack of direction in our lives. I know that is something I seek and want to have. My goal with adapting a more minimalistic lifestyle is to find that intention and to find that direction in my life.

6. Less stress

Let’s face it. Lots of stuff is stressful. More stuff means more to keep clean, keep organized, and keep track off. Me being the type of person that I am, (easily overwhelmed in a messy place) I need to live in a clean environment to thrive and be the happiest and healthiest version of myself.

7. Easier to downsize

I dream of living in a tiny house at one point in my life. I am in love with the thought, and concept, but in order to live in such a small place, I would have to own little to no possessions; only the necessities. By training myself now on how to live and be happy with less, I will be more comfortable with the idea if I ever downsize in the future.

8. Owning higher quality things

When you spend less money on crap you save more money and when you save more money you can spend that money on higher quality items, because you have more money. And the great thing about higher quality items is they last a longer time, meaning that you are not wasting resources. Great concept. Easy concept.

9.  Support other causes

With the money you have saved you are now able to spend on other causes. There are so many organizations and causes that I support wholeheartedly. I believe that my money will be better spent on lasting things than perishing things. This point is one that really won me over to this lifestyle. Lasting things worth supporting are education, healthcare, clean water, and equal rights for women.

10. Easier to keep an organized life

I thrive in an organized home. I love being creative and truly believe it is impossible to reach your creative potential in a messy unorganized space. I also love the thought off utilizing my life as much as I can. This can be made easier with organized space. Think about how much time you waste looking for things and being scattered. Being organized, you utilize all your time wisely.

Anyways, these are the ten reasons that I noticed in my own life. Have you wondered about some of these things? Do you have any questions? Please comment below. 🙂

10 thoughts on “Journey To Minimalism

  1. great reasons to be minimalist, i try my best not to buy unnecessary things but i’m still guilty of it, i recently had a thorough cleansing of my home and got rid of literally everything I didn’t use or want anymore and it felt great 🙂

    Like

  2. Okay, you seriously have inspired me! I am SO into this! I have read a lot on this kind of lifestyle but didn’t really know how to implement it either. I started with my mind and soul and I cleaned up a lot of drama and unnecessary thoughts/negative thinking, etc. but that’s where it stopped. I can certainly agree with being materialistic! I think this is fantastic… good on you for doing this! Love it!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your sweet words! It has been going so well, and is so worth all the upfront hard work. I feel like cleaning the mind and soul is the most important step in the entire journey! Let me know how your minimalism journey goes ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. To be honest i must start to do a proper cleaning of my room, but just the pure thought to getting a start are a major task late i always postpone to another day. My room are reality small and i like things to be organize. I don’t buy things that i don’t need, since i hardly earn much money to begin with, but yes everyone have a lot to think do we still need those items in our home – we receive items from friends or family members and that gives you joy, but it also takes more space and extra work load – something to think about.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for reading. I totally agree. It took my husband and I weeks to go through all of our stuff and purge the things that we didn’t need. Its so time consuming and so emotional. I think its best to take it a day at at time not trying to conquer it all at once. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

